Justice and Injustice in America

JUSTICE AND INJUSTICE IN1950s AMERICA

The lecture series "Justice and Injustice in 1950s America" is bringing together some of the most distinguished artists and historians working in America today to explore the various efforts to achieve justice in the United States during this transformative decade.

The series, hosted by Professor Michael Meeropol, visiting professor of economics and elder son of Ethel and Julius Rosenberg, is funded by the New York Council for the Humanities.


Lecture Series Dates and Speakers:

Monday, February 1, 7:00 PM, Room 630T
The 1950s Nobody Knows
Speaker: Michael Meeropol, PhD

Monday, February 8, 7:00 PM, Room 630T
The Changing Concept of Freedom in the United Sates: 1945 - 1960
Speaker: Eric Foner, PhD

Thursday, February 18, 7:00 PM, Room 630T
Eisenhower: A Divided Legacy of Liberalism & Anti-Communism
Speaker: Blanche Wiesen Cook, PhD

Monday, February 22, 7:00 PM, Room 630T
Lessons of McCarthyism
Speaker: Victor Navasky

Monday, March 1, 7:00 PM, Room 630T
From the Korean War to Vietnam - American Foreign Policy in the 1950s
Speaker: Marilyn Young, PhD

Monday, March 8, 7:00 PM, Gerald W. Lynch Theater
A Conversation with Tony Kushner

Monday, March 15, 7:00 PM, Room 630T
Not June Cleaver: Women in Post War America
Speaker: Joanne Meyerowitz, PhD

Monday, March 22, 6:00 PM, Room 630T
A Case Study of Resistance: The Rosenberg-Sobell Case Film: Heir to an Execution
Speaker: Ivy Meeropol

Monday, April 12, 7:00 PM, Room 630T
The Role of Folk Music as an Element in an Emerging Counter-Culture
Speaker: Peggy Seeger

Monday, April 19, 7:00 PM, Gerald W. Lynch Theater
The 1950's: Some Literary Snapshots
Speaker: E.L. Doctorow

Monday, April 26, 7:00 PM, Room 630T
Two Giants of Resistance, Web DuBois and Paul Robeson
Speaker: David Levering Lewis, PhD

Monday, May 3, 7:00 PM, Room 630T
Non-conformism in the 50s: Missed Opportunities and their Consequences
Speaker: Noam Chomsky, PhD

Monday, May 10, 7:00 PM, Room 630T
Talk Back - How Far Have We Come?
Speaker: Michael Meeropol, PhD

Monday, May 17 7:00 PM Room 630T
Summing Up
Speaker: Michael Meeropol, PhD

John Jay is CUNY